Reading Strategies

Last night I tried a new approach with one of my college classes. The course is about science education. We read an article that summarizes a high school science activity that addresses climate, heat capacity, investigation design, & the nature of science.

I first had students read the article to identify how the authors addressed the nature of science as well as missed opportunities. Then, they went back through the article to note places when the activity fit with learning theory. In a third reading, I asked the preservice teachers to identify teacher actions/behaviors that seemed important for the activity to work. Fourth, I had students investigate ways in which the authors addressed safety issues. In a final reading, we investigated how the article sought to teach the science content. That is, how the authors organize & scaffold content learning for students.

In between each reading, we discussed ideas & pros/cons of the activity in relation to the lens through which we had just viewed the article. I imagine most people would consider reading the same article 5 times would be redundant. I found the students’ ideas to grow in sophistication as we progressed & the different lenses provided new perspectives.

Each time we read the article, we embarked on a new inquiry into the nature of teaching. This kind of close reading is not often achieved & asking students to view the same reading through different lenses provided scaffolding for them to dig deeper into the piece. Imagine if we encouraged younger students to read so closely instead of quizzing them on mundane details*.

*when I wrote the phrase “mundane details” I immediately thought of Office Space. ;-)

5 Responses to Reading Strategies

  1. An interesting discussion is definitely worth comment.
    I believe that you ought to write more about this topic, it may not be a taboo matter but
    usually people don’t speak about such topics. To the next! Best wishes!!

  2. To quote Benjamin Franklin: There is no shame in being ignorant, only in being unwilling to learn.
    I must take this opportunity and thank you for allowing me to learn, so that I’m less ignorant today than I was the day before.

  3. blogspot.com says:

    I really like this blog. It is like a secret haven where
    I always find something that fascinates me.

  4. I wanted to tell you that I normally view this blog from my android,
    when I’m on the train to work, and it is one of the very few blogs that look good on mobile phones, and that is truly remarkable.

  5. Hi it’s me, I am also visiting this web page daily, this website is actually nice and the viewers are actually sharing good thoughts.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,258 other followers

