Global warming

Those of you who know me, know I have great interest in the nature of science. Misunderstandings about how science works often lead students to believe that global warming is not legitimate because there is no “experiment” to be done.

Today I started talking about global warming and had several students believe that scientists disagree on the cause. I looked into our textbook and it painted a similar picture. Yet, my understanding has been that there is little disagreement among climatologists.

This has led me to a plan for tomorrow. I am going to have students construct a document on global warming and find resources for both “sides”. Then they will send me an email or post a blog that outlines their views on global warming. This could be an interesting activity as I might learn a lot and students will be weighing evidence to inform their thinking, and being asked to put that thinking into words – a truly difficult task.

This entry was posted in Goals for Students, Reflection, Teacher Actions, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Global warming

  1. Jeremy says:

    Jerrid,
    I’m really interested in how this lesson turned out!

    Like

  2. I, too, am really interested in how this lesson turned out. I’ll be discussing global warming with one of my classes next week.

    Like

Leave a Reply

