Twitter.

Tonight I participated in a chat on twitter by following the “tag” #educhat.  For those of you with twitter accounts, you could search for #educhat to get an idea of how the chat went.  I am realizing more and more that Twitter is a powerful connecting tool.  I was able to participate in discussions during this “forum” that I would likely not have with other colleagues very often.  Yet, did I really learn anything new?  Not really.  I suppose there is always value in thinking more about a subject – the more time spent thinking about a particular topic, the more prepared you are for inspiration, right? 

After tonight’s chat I have even had some ideas for incorporating twitter in my classroom next year.  If students had the chance to learn twitter and become familiar with it, I could organize #krusescience chats that students could participate in from home.  I imagine having students meet online at a certain time of night while making observations of the moon/stars.  The nice thing is that students could use their cell phones (which they are on constantly) to update their tweets.  So internet access is not a requirement.  This all goes back to trying to encourage students to spend more mental time on the topics I’m trying to teach them which should lead to increased learning.

Of course, this does need to be better thought through, but I wanted to get some ideas down.

This entry was posted in Reflection, Technology in the Classroom. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Twitter.

  1. Bud says:

    Good thoughts. There are many potential asynchronous uses of twitter as well, esp. wrt formative assessment, announcements, etc. I noted some ideas on potential usesof twitter in teacher education here: http://budtalbot.blogspot.com/2009/01/potential-uses-of-twitter-in-teacher.html and potential uses of cell phones to faciliate formative assessment here: http://budtalbot.blogspot.com/2009/01/how-can-we-use-new-communication.html Also check out this blog: http://www.cellphonesinlearning.com

    Like

  2. Gabrielle says:

    i think it’s a great idea.

    i had some trouble my first semester at university because i was on the school paper, and they were using google documents as a central part of how they did things. i had a laptop & wireless access, but at home all we have is dial-up. so many assignments took SOOOOOOOO LONG because of that, as did much internet researching in high school. something simple & fast , even for dial-up, like twitter, would be absolutely brilliant.

    Like

  3. Megan Roelfs says:

    I think it’s a great idea, however I have one qualm; what about those students without cell phones or internet? I know it is rare, but there are still some.. I think?

    Like

  4. jerridkruse says:

    Oh, there are a lot, Megan. Especially when you work in a fairly low income district. I try to make the tech available during my class by taking about a class period every other week to work on our many online projects. I work to supplement the curriculum online, but the real learning happens in the classroom- as it should. I think equity in technology is an important issue that needs to be continually addressed as more and more technology is integrated into our cultural norms.

    Like

  5. Megan Roelfs says:

    Alright that sounds pretty good. How do you keep those students without the technology available at home from feeling left out or ashamed?

    Like

Leave a Reply

