Creating Doubt

One of my preservice teachers asked me what I would do when students are working in groups and one group seems to be “right on”. I told her, “I do everything I can to get them to doubt their thinking”.

She was understandably surprised by my response and I admit I was using a bit of hyperbole for effect. I wouldn’t do “everything” I could, but I would attempt to get them to doubt their thinking, even though they are “right”.

I don’t want my students to rely on my approval of everything they do. I want independent thinkers. I don’t want my students to limit their thinking to achieving “right” answers. I want creative and critical thinkers.

So, when I get a “right” answer, I ask students to continue to think, just like I do when I get a “wrong” answer. That must be why a former student made the following:

20140518-210757-76077072.jpg

This entry was posted in Goals for Students, Science Education, Teacher Actions and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

