Can Leadership be Learned?

The more I read about leadership, the more unique characteristics come to the forefront. Good leaders are rarely equated with those who can effectively draft a strategic plan, create a vision statement, or can balance a budget. Instead, good leaders are consistently described as humble, enthusiastic, caring, etc.

I’m not convinced that such characteristics can be learned in a leadership program. Instead, these characteristics are cultivated over a very long period of time. Perhaps leadership development should be less about strategy and more about philosophy, less about praxis and more about meditation.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Can Leadership be Learned?

  1. I think you may be on to something, given your the leadership traits you described. I think one possible distinction is thinking about leadership as a position/title vs. one’s capacity to help others improve.

    When I think about ed. leadership graduate programs, I see them geared towards positions (i.e. principal or special education director) which may be a slightly different direction than your implied definition of leadership (capacity). Does that make any sense?

    Like

    • jerridkruse says:

      It does make sense, but maybe leaders (& leadership programs) should focus less on the position. ;-)

      That said, I know there are practical realities to consider as well as licensure requirements. So, it’s a balancing act, like all things.

      Like

  2. Liz N says:

    When I think about what I do in my current role and where I feel effective, I fall back to things that I learned about effective teaching in my MAT program and not the leadership things I learned through my leadership classes. I would argue that I’ve learned more about leadership by watching effective and ineffective leaders in their roles.

    Like

Leave a Reply

