Breaking Patterns

So, I haven’t written anything here since mid-march.  I suspect that was spring break.  If I look at my posts over time, I notice that I tend to write more here during breaks from my “day job”.  Breaks are important, I think they provide time for reflection and planning.  Breaks allow us to enter into our return with a sense of rest and excitement. Breaks help us avoid feeling stuck and lost in the mundane.

Yet, I feel cheated that I sometimes don’t allow myself breaks except for the “official” breaks. With the ever increasing focus on production and the increasing utilitarian outlook in both academia and society at large, we should continue to push against the lack of breaks. Leisure time may just be the most valuable commodity our modern society has produced, we should not let it be taken away. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Breaking Patterns

  1. Becky says:

    I have loved ones who take pride in not using their vacation time, as they feel it shows their dedication to their work. Personally, I think it’s good to admit that we enjoy (or even need) time with friends and family, time to catch up with our own thoughts & feelings, and time to do things we want to do (and not just things we “need” to do). One of my favorite things about school breaks is being able to read whatever book I want, even if it’s just Pride & Prejudice for the umpteenth time.

    School is one of the greatest challenges I’ve taken on. I’m not sure I’d get as much out of my work if I wasn’t able to disengage at times. I’m assuming it’s the same for our professors. So take a few weeks, spend lots of time with family, eat some delicious cookies (I trust you won that battle with Prof Wilcox), and come back ready to mold us into outstanding educators! We certainly benefit from having dedicated professors who return rested & excited.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. michelle says:

    I teach future teachers and in one of my classes we do a unit on the importance of play for students… and adults. Adults sometimes forget how to play, and it’s not only biologically natural, it’s a necessity. So, apart from just taking breaks, be sure to play too! There are a few good TED Talks on this issue; I recommend the one by Peter Gray. I can’t pretend I’m immune from the endless push to work though, so thank you for the reminder!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Becky says:

      That is my favorite TED Talk that I’ve seen. I’ve shared it with so many people over the last couple years. Play is essential for development and gives kids a chance to practice their skills in a safe environment with each other. There’s a lot of information out there about the adventure playgrounds he talks about as well, and there are also some innovative schools out there like “forest kindergarten” for kids that encourage them to explore and have a lot of hands-on experience in social groups.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

