Teacher Education Starts in Kindergarten

“Teachers create all other professions”.

Teachers also create their own profession.  Some of the students in your class will eventually become teachers.

To what extent are you modeling effective teaching for those students? 

I was a late comer to education.  Teaching did not seem an interesting option for my life’s work.

I was wrong.

When are you explicitly discussing teaching and learning with your students?  How are you helping your students recognize the intellectual challenge of teaching others?  In what way do you explicitly share your passion for teaching with kids?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Teacher Education Starts in Kindergarten

  1. Chastity Westry says:

    From personal experience , growing up, my teachers i feel did not give off a positive vibe of their position . I think modeling effective teaching to students is very important on helping them make future decisions . After hearing my teachers talk down on their career, i felt as if it wasn’t for me. But, i did not let their complaints ruin my inspirations for elementary education.

    Like

  2. Hey! I am a student at the University of South Alabama in EDM 310. I have been assigned to read your blog post and comment. I do not have my own classroom yet, so the questions that you have purposed really go unanswered at this point right now. “Teachers create all other professions.” This statement is so relevant in teaching and is true. We are laying the foundation for our students! Many teachers I had growing up did not take their position as serious as it seems you do. Since I am unable to answer the questions that you have brought to my attention, I would love to hear your personal answer. “To what extent are you modeling effective teaching for those students? When are you explicitly discussing teaching and learning with your students? How are you helping your students recognize the intellectual challenge of teaching others? In what way do you explicitly share your passion for teaching with kids?” Could you give me your personal answer to these questions? What is your main way of teaching in your own classroom?
    Please feel free to contact me:
    Email- Victoria.williams9207@gmail.com
    My Blog: http://williamsvictoriaelizabethedm310.blogspot.com/
    Twitter: @tori_williams92

    Thanks, Victoria Williams

    Like

  3. brantley spillman says:

    Mr. Kruse, my name is Brantley Spillman. I am currently enrolled at the University of South Alabama and majoring in Education. I have enjoyed reading your blog. I am also a latecomer to education and am seeking tangible advice on how to be an effective teacher. Your questions posed in the post are provoking and require some thought. Anytime a teacher is stepping back to reflect on how they are communicating with their students is beneficial. I think your inspirational words are a good foundation to establish my personal strategy to teaching. I look forward to future post.

    Like

  4. Sydney says:

    Hello Mr. Jerrid,

    I am a student at the University of South Alabama and we are required to comment on your blog for a class that I am taking called EDM310. I think it is really important for teachers to set good examples for the classroom because many students are looking up to them and have high exspectations for their teachers. Teachers have to be very careful about what they do and say around their students because they are always watching.

    Like

  5. Hunter Reid says:

    Hi I am a student at the University of South Alabama and we are required to comment on your blog for my EDM 310 class. I think it is vital for teachers to be a good positive example in the classroom because students tend to set their teachers on a pedestal of sorts. So if the teachers are a poor example then the students will seem to follow.

    Like

Leave a comment